The Canadian Ice Hockey League is one of the most recognized leagues across the world. Established in Montreal, Quebec, the National Hockey League (NHL) dates back to 1917. Historically known as the ‘The Original Six,’ in 1944, six teams left the national league. They were the Boston Bruins, New York Rangers, Montreal Canadiens, Detroit Red Wings, Chicago Black Hawks, and the Toronto Maple Leafs. The league incorporated six new teams to replace the original six and later expanded to accommodate over 26 teams to take part in the tournament.

Montreal Canadiens

Having existed way before ice hockey was well established in Canada, Montreal Canadiens is one of the legendary teams. Le Club de hockey Canadien is also informally known as the Habs. The team has taken home the most Stanley Cups in the Ice Hockey league in Canada. Apart from being in the NHL, it is also a member of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference. The Montreal Canadians were formed before the NHL was launched and are part of the ‘Original Six.’

Toronto Maple Leafs

The Toronto Maple Leafs (Leafs) is considered the highest valued team in the league, at $81.9 million in 2012. With 13 wins, they are ranked the second team in the Ice Hockey championship. The professional team is part of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference. They are also part of two other leagues; the Newfoundland Growlers and the American Hockey League.

Vancouver Canucks

Joining the renowned National Hockey League in 1970, the Vancouver Canucks set a season-best in the Canadian league. They are based in Vancouver, British Columbia. One of their greatest achievements has been winning the President’s Trophy in the 2010-2011 and 2011-2012 seasons. They have also won several titles in the Smythe Divison and Northwest Division. The Canucks play in the Pacific Division of the Western Conference of the NHL. Unfortunately, the team is among the few which have never won the Stanley Cup.

Calgary Flames

Ranking as the third professional ice hockey team in Calgary city, the Calgary Flames are one of the top teams in Canada. The Flames have taken home three conference titles and one Stanley Cup Championship. The team joined the NHL as an expansion team in 1972. The Flames take part in the Western Conference Division. The Flames were named after the burning of the Army General during the American Civil War.

Edmonton Oilers

Based in Edmonton, Alberta, the Edmonton Oilers is one of the best ice hockey teams in the NHL. This professional ice hockey team plays in the Western Conference in the NHL. In the 2016-2017, the Oilers won a record 47 games, the highest number the players have ever won. They have also won the Stanley Cup five times.